8th Annual Prairie Chess Camp



July 18 – 22, 2016 Cedar Rapids, IA

8:00 am – 4:30 pm Prairie Point Middle School 8015 Kirkwood Blvd SW Cedar Rapids, IA 52404



A 5-DAY CHESS EXPERIENCE FOR ALL KIDS!

For All Scholastic Chess Players Entering Grades 1–12

Fee is \$275 for 5 Day Camp
Price includes Lunch, Snacks, & Instructional Materials
Visit www.chessiniowa.org/camp2016 for registration details and camp photos
For questions, contact James Hodina at james.hodina@chessiniowa.org

Whether you are an Iowa State Chess Champion or a beginning chess player, your experience will be personalized for you.

Chess Campers will meet together but are often divided into groups based on age and demonstrated ability to allow the instructors to work with the students at a targeted level.

DAILY SCHEDULE

8:00 am - 4:30 pm

7:30 am Early Drop Off

8:00 am Chess Warm Up

8:30 am Small Group Instruction 1

9:30 am Snack

10:00 am Small Group Instruction 2

11:00 am Outdoor Recess

11:30 am Lunch

12:00 pm Small Group Instruction 3

1:00 pm Large Group Chess Activity

2:00 pm Outdoor Recess

2:30 pm Snack

2:45 pm Thematic Tournament

4:30 pm Parent Pickup

5:00 pm CAMP CLOSES -

All students must be picked up

INSTRUCTION

Three teaching rooms will each be led by US Chess Masters

Alex Betaneli: Wisconsin State Champion in 2000, 2001, 2005, and 2012. He frequently writes for the most widely read American chess magazine Chess Life. Alex's students consistently win titles at both state and national levels.

Erik Santarius: Wisconsin State Champion in 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2013. He has four International Master norms and will be awarded the title once his international rating reaches 2400. Erik's students consistently win awards in individual and team competitions.

Dan Brashaw: Iowa State Champion in 2013 and 2015. He is Iowa's newest USCF Master. Dan returns following his 2014 inaugural year at the Prairie Chess Camp. Dan is the former Iowa High School state champion and representative to the National Denker Tournament of High School Champions.